This month I am working to promote creating Personal Learning Networks (PLN). As I encourage my colleagues to began to use social networking tools in their classrooms, I also reminded them that it important to separate personal from professional accounts.

The recent post from Scott Weidig (@vanishingpoint) on the EdReach site, presented a recommendation for school districts to develop and adopt Social Networking / Media policies to address the “social media overlap”.

http://edreach.us/2012/03/14/10343/4412472230_eb5f4b6dc2_o-jpg/

 

Weidig goes on to present guidelines for developing  policy based on social media best practices. These guidelines would support the discussion to protect teachers while they integrate social media tools.

 

Inspiration to post came from my PLN>Google Reader>Reeder iPad App>EdReach

